Client Testimonials

Pippin the New Broadway Cast Recording CD

Pippin the New Broadway Cast Recording CD Pippin the New Broadway Cast Recording CD 
Tell a Friend

Pin It
Share |

Item# PNNB010
List PriceSale PriceYou Save
The selected item/option is out of stock.
Email me when back in stock:
Pippin the musical, featuring a beloved score by Stephen Schwartz, returned to Broadway for the first time in 40 years in the spring of 2013. The show garnered 10 Tony Award nominations, went on to win the Tony Award for Best Musical Revival. This all new recording features Tony Award winning actress Andrea Martin performing her show stopping rendition of "Just No Time at All", backed up by a sing-along chorus of 700 fans who won the chance to be a part of the recording. Also features music that was not recorded on the Original Broadway Cast album, as well as sing-along orchestra tracks for "Corner of the Sky", "Simple Joys", "Kind of Woman", and "Extraordinary".

This new cirque-inspired revival of Roger O. Hirson and Schwartz's dark and groovy coming-of-age musical was directed by Diane Paulus (Hair, Porgy and Bess) The staging incorporates circus choreography and acrobatics by Gypsy Snider of the Montreal-based circus company Les 7 doigts de la main (7 Fingers). Pippin retains much of Bob Fosse's iconic moves thanks to Chet Walker, who choreographs in Fosse's original style.

British actor Matthew James Thomas, who is no stranger to high-flying stunts on Broadway, having starred as the Peter Parker alternate in Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark, takes on the title role in the modern classic. He is joined by Tony and Olivier Award nominee Patina Miller (Sister Act, Hair) as Leading Player, the show's singing, dancing and charming ringmaster, with Tony Award winner Andrea Martin (My Favorite Year) as Berthe, Tony Award nominee Terrence Mann (Les Miserables, The Scarlet Pimpernel) as King Charles, Tony Award nominee Charlotte d'Amboise (Chicago, Carrie) as Fastrada, Erik Altemus (The Fantasticks) as Lewis, Andrew Cekala (Marie Antoinette) as Theo and Rachel Bay Jones (Women on the Verge..., Hair) as Catherine.

Track Listing:

1. Magic To Do
2. Corner Of The Sky
3. War Is A Science
4. Glory
5. Simple Joys
6. No Time At All
7. With You
8. Spread A Little Sunshine
9. Morning Glow
10. Entr'acte
11. On The Right Track
12. Kind Of Woman
13. Extraordinary
14. Love Song
15. I Guess I'll Miss The Man
16. Finale

17. Corner Of The Sky
18. Simple Joys
19. Kind Of Woman
20. Extraordinary

Music & Lyrics by Stephen Schwartz
Book by Roger O. Hirson
Directed by Diane Paulus
Produced for Records by Stephen Schwartz and Kurt Deutsch