Client Testimonials

South Pacific - The New Broadway Cast Recording CD

South Pacific - The New Broadway Cast Recording CD South Pacific - The New Broadway Cast Recording CD 
Tell a Friend

Pin It
Share |

Item# SO954
List PriceSale PriceYou Save
The selected item/option is out of stock.
Email me when back in stock:
The first-ever Broadway revival of the landmark musical, Rodgers and Hammerstein's South Pacific, opened at the Vivian Beaumont Theater at Lincoln Center on Thursday, April 3rd, 2008 to ecstatic reviews. Starring Kelli O'Hara as Ensign Nellie Forbush and Paulo Szot as Emile de Becque, directed by Bartlett Sher with musical staging by Christopher Gattelli, and featuring a 30 piece orchestra (unheard of by today's standards) playing the original Broadway arrangements under the direction of Ted Sperling, this revival has been hailed as "sheer perfection".

The curtain rang down on the original production of Rodgers & Hammerstein's South Pacific in 1954 after five years of extraordinary acclaim and countless awards including nine Tonys and a Pulitzer. Based on James Michener's Pulitzer Prize winning book Tales of the South Pacific, the musical is set on a tropical island during World War II and tells the sweeping romantic story of two couples - U.S. Navy nurse Nellie Forbush and French plantation owner Emile de Becque and Marine Joe Cable and a young local native girl Liat - and how their happiness is threatened by the realities of the war and by their own prejudices. Considered by many the finest musical ever written, the score's songs include such musical theater classics as "Some Enchanted Evening," "Younger Than Springtime," "Bali Ha'i," "There is Nothin' Like a Dame" and "A Wonderful Guy."

Music by Richard Rodgers; lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II; book by Mr. Hammerstein and Joshua Logan, adapted from "Tales of the South Pacific" by James A. Michener; directed by Bartlett Sher; musical staging by Christopher Gattelli; music director, Ted Sperling; sets by Michael Yeargan; costumes by Catherine Zuber; lighting by Donald Holder; sound by Scott Lehrer; orchestrations by Robert Russell Bennett; dance and incidental music arrangements by Trude Rittmann. Featuring Kelli O'Hara, Paulo Szot, Loretta Ables Sayre, Matthew Morrison, Danny Burstein, Sean Cullen, Victor Hawks, Luka Kain, Li Jun Li, Laurissa Romain, Skipp Sudduth, Noah Weisberg, Becca Ayers, Wendi Bergamini, Genson Blimline, Grady McLeod Bowman, Charlie Brady, Matt Caplan, Christian Carter, Helmar Augustus Cooper, Jeremy Davis, Margot de la Barrev, Christian Delcroix, Laura Marie Duncan, Mike Evariste, Laura Griffith, Lisa Howard, Maryann Hu, Zachary James, Robert Lenzi, Garrett Long, Nick Mayo, George Merrick, William Michals, Kimber Monroe, Emily Morales, Darius Nichols, George Psomas, Andrew Samonsky, Jerold E. Solomon.

Track Listing:

1. Overture
2. Dites-Moi
3. A Cockeyed Optimist
4. Twin Soliloquies
5. Some Enchanted Evening
6. Bloody Mary
7. There Is Nothin' Like a Dame
8. Bali Ha'i
9. My Girl Back Home
10. I'm Gonna Wash That Man Right Outa My Hair
11. Reprise: Some Enchanted Evening
12. Wonderful Guy
13. Reprise: Bali Ha'i
14. Younger Than Springtime
15. Reprise: A Wonderful Guy
16. This Is How It Feels
17. Finale Act I
18. Entr'acte
19. Happy Talk
20. Reprise: Younger than Springtime
21. Honey Bun
22. You've Got To Be Carefully Taught
23. This Nearly Was Mine
24. Reprise: Some Enchanted Evening
25. Reprise: Honey Bun
26. Finale Ultimo